Travel Theme: Light

28 Apr

I think I may have been overly excited about last week’s “Travel Theme: Contrast” challenge that I interpreted it differently. I posted several pictures of the Marina Bay Sands (MBS) lights show here in Singapore.

My take on it was the light provided the contrast against the night sky, creating this magical (and menacing) effect of Luke’s (and Darth Maul’s) lightsaber(s). From afar, they look like several laser lights dancing in the sky from which appears like a… hmm… a troubled spaceship out to get us poor earthlings.

Anyway, for this week, the theme is light and, as soon as I read it on my Notifications (Ailsa’s blog), I quickly scanned through the pictures in my camera album for something that represents light, apart from those of the MBS lights show. And I have ’em, I’m glad!

Have I told you I love lights shows and sunlight? Yeah, I do. Images of sunrise, gorgeous sunsets, cottony clouds or even hazy ones are my favourite iPhone snaps.

OCBC.jpg

OCBC Garden Rhapsody at the Supertree Grove, Gardens by the Bay, Singapore (January 2013)

Jimbaran sunset.jpg

Jimbaran beach sunset, Bali, Indonesia (March 2011)

Sunsets have a way of making any moment romantic and almost unreal. You see the sky change colours and, with every passing moment, poetry is revealed. It’s like a changing, revolving painting right before your very eyes, and the sky is a big canvas.

Lights shows, on the other hand, are every bit of entertaining as those short 3D animation films but the difference is, they’re not animated. They’re real. Sort of. I’ve seen lights shows with animations and they’re really, really good. They bring out the child in me.

What about you? Show me your “Light” pictures!

Blogging from my side of the globe,

Marie

6 Responses to “Travel Theme: Light”

  1. Loca Gringa 29/04/2013 at 11:38 am #

    Stunning, breathtaking!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Travel Theme: Shine Your Light | Serendipity 13 - 30/04/2013

    […] Travel Theme: Light (marieatwork.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Travel Theme: Light (Passing Through) | A shot of espresso. - 30/04/2013

    […] entry about “light”. My first entry is here. I simply love this week’s […]

  3. travel theme: light | my sweetpainteddreams - 02/05/2013

    […] Travel Theme: Light (marieatwork.wordpress.com) […]

  4. Travel Theme: Dance | A shot of espresso. - 06/05/2013

    […] Travel Theme: Light (marieatwork.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

