Travel Theme: Dance

5 May

When was the last time you danced? This week’s theme, dance, has inspired me to write this piece and recall the last time I did. And it felt damn good.

Both the dancing and the occasion.

I used to dance when I was little. I took ballet lessons, was active in school performances and was a member of my major’s dance troupe in University. When I started working, my friends and I would enjoy a night of dancing to cap the working week off and welcome the weekend.

Over the years, dancing, sort of, took a backseat — both the art and that bit for fun. I do, however, remember when I’d enjoy a jazz or hip hop dance class at this yoga studio I used to go to here in Singapore. That was almost a couple of years ago. But that was it.

I considered enrolling at a nearby pole-dancing studio but I just wasn’t sure I could dance with an attitude in really, really skimpy shorts and stilettos, and carry my weight up, down and around the pole. Hmm.

Anyway, I last danced about seven months ago and I had a fantabulous time. It was my wedding day.

wedding dress.jpg

The dress for the most important dance of my life.

_DG_3406

Dancing to the tune of “Perfect” by Jon McLaughlin.

 

_DG_3407

Having fun on the dance floor with my groom.

_DG_3408

The dress was a bit heavy but I didn’t care. I just danced.

And from that day on, we promised to be dancing partners, no matter what, in this crazy little dance called “life”.

How about you? When was the last time you danced?

Blogging from my side of the globe,

Marie

5 Responses to “Travel Theme: Dance”

  1. mrscarmichael 06/05/2013 at 7:23 pm #

    beautiful dance, beautiful dress, beautiful bride.

  2. The Retiring Sort 07/05/2013 at 5:46 am #

    What a sweet post! Keep dancing together!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Travel Theme: Dance | judy lesko - 10/05/2013

    […] Travel Theme: Dance (marieatwork.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

